Home > Griffin Avid > Using Construction Kits in your Production (loops of music phrases etc…)

Using Construction Kits in your Production (loops of music phrases etc…)

I feel every artist/musician has to decide for themselves that amount of creativity/control they need to have in their music to feel “right” about it.

That’s balanced with the “Arrogance of Isolation” where someone thinks they have so much…talent or magic to offer that they must compose or create everything themselves.

“producers” have twisted the definition of Producer into One Man Band.
I do Drums
I do Melody
I do arrangement
I do engineering
I do Mix
I even do master….

And somehow that becomes a more accurate definition of making music when A BAND or Orchestra or any group of individuals working together is FACTually able to achieve more with broader results.

It’s actually the reason music has dumbed down since the invention of the one-man-band. It was hidden during the sample era since Samplists were sampling Bands – i.e. Group Efforts.

Those libraries are meant for more than just Producas.
There are PRODUCERS who don’t play anything (Drums, keyboards, synths, guitars etc..) They are using the same process they always have. Listening to a phrase/part/performance and deciding if it fits -and where and how.

That’s actually what it is to be a producer at its core (aside from all the other business elements of producing a record). That’s the ear part.

If I am submitting for a commercial project (and those that know this world understand deadlines) I may not have time to get an Uptempo/Urban/Pensive/Driving track done in one night. I might use loops to see what fits when my ideas for a melody or synthline are stalled. Hell I may not want to spend a whole night studying Crunk music to learn its language. I may just pop open a folder called Crunktified Loops and take the crash course. Snag a loop and build my signature on top of it. That would account for the project description of “with a taste of Crunk, but not too much” Bingo.

Also, Producas tend to do everything just enough to get over. Not a pianist, but they play the keys. Don’t play drums, but program drums…etc…

As a musician I might actually have serious keyboard chops, but can’t play the drums. I would then use loops for my drums and play everything else.

Guitarists use loops without batting an eye lash. Why? Because they consider themselves musicians. And as a musician, it’s okay to play a single instrument. As a Produca (who doesn’t really play anything) it’s not.

That’s the joke of it all.

You gotta decide for yourself how much control you need to feel truly creative. And it makes sense to have that decision be made based on creating the best music possible and not the ego of the creator or anyone else.

Categories: Griffin Avid Tags:
  1. March 3, 2015 at 8:05 pm

    Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is very helpful.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. February 20, 2014 at 7:49 pm

    You made some decent points there. I checked on the net to find out more about the issue and found most
    individuals will go along with your views on this site.

  3. ud5
    September 3, 2012 at 11:40 am

    interesting points.. just getting into it myself (Zouk, which is often heavily produced), and this convinced me that maybe I shouldn’t worry too much about using kits.

  4. October 18, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    hey bro, I have this discussion with cats all the time, and say the same thing. These libraries are no different than having session musicians, bands, orchestras, etc…it gives those who don’t have the time, budget, or connections to actually hire a guitarist, or keyboardist, or drummer, or whatever we need…the chance to see the vision still complete.

    Simple, to the point, but dope none the less, keep it up man. I know this is an old one but I love it, love the site too, magazine is dope.

  1. February 1, 2013 at 12:44 pm

Leave a Reply

